Band Students Compete, Earn Trip to State at ISSMA DIstrict Contest

The District Indiana State School Music Association Instrumental Solo and Ensemble Contest was held on Saturday, January 27 at Ben Davis 9th Grade Center. Sycamore School had 107 band students participate in the event. The student musicians performed music for a judge, who critiqued the student’s performance. The score was then tallied and each student or group earned a rating (gold, silver, bronze, participation). In addition, students participate in the event in one of five levels, with Group I being the most difficult, and Group V being for first time participants. Students who earned a gold rating in Group I are eligible for the State Solo and Ensemble Contest that will be held on February 24th at North Central High School. This is typically an honor that is reserved for high school upperclassmen, but 7 Sycamore School students were selected for this honor.  Congratulations to all participants on outstanding performances.
Sycamore School students and their event and division ratings are:
Solos- Gold Ratings (37)
Group I (qualifying for state): Rhea Bhatia, flute; Jessica Godfrey, alto saxophone; Luke Nargang, bari sax; Eli Beheler, euphonium

Group II:  Bridget Bodey, Natalie Fiur, flute; Ava Cabellon, clarinet; Jill Longoria, Alissa Weigand, bassoon; Aanchal Agarwal, Emeline Papp, french horn; Vincent Mann, euphonium

Group III:  Dani Wei, oboe; Avery Outcalt, clarinet; Cooper Grabow, Laurel Granlund, bassoon; Erik Haggstrom, Constantine Stefanid, alto sax; Marie Coutant, Owen Williams, trumpet; Alex Wei, Kate Weigand, tuba; Meera Mahidhara, violin

Group IV: Sruthi Devarapalli, flute; Mikey Cardlwell, alto sax

Group V:  Sam Irizarry, Insia Zaidi, flute; Sophie Farnum, oboe; Kavi Shankar, alto sax; Alex Lipkovich, Daniel Peyton, tenor sax; Colin Cabellon, Jake Lee, Avi Maun, Sam Rudavsky, trombone; Nelson You, marimba and snare drum
Solos- Silver Ratings (5)
Group I:  Henley Lynch, trumpet

Group II:  Irene Liang, clarinet

Group III:  Aditi Dey, flute; Porter Kandel, tenor sax

Group IV:  Chloe Kaplan, snare drum

Ensembles- Gold Ratings (26)
Group I (qualifying for state): Ellie Childress, Ella Longoria, Ava Cabellon, clarinet trio; Rhea Bhatia, Ellie Childress, Ella Longoria, Jessica Godfrey, woodwind quartet;
Group II:  Catherine Condor, Irene Liang, Sydney Longoria, woodwind trio; Natalie Fiur, Catherine Conder, Ella Longoria, Jill Longoria, Naeman Khatib, woodwind quintet;
Group III: Lauren Janeria, Aditi Dey, Sara Fulk, flute trio; Kate Fryburg, Morgan Stickney, Isabel Hargrove, woodwind trio; Isabel Hargrove, Alyssa Effland, Georgia Bott, woodwind trio; Dani Wei, Laurel Granlund, Cooper Grabow, woodwind trio; Katie Hur, Charlotte Thompson, Ava Cabellon, Alissa Weigand, Grace Hendry, woodwind quintet; Katie Hur, Kate Fryburg, Bridget Bodey, Hillary McGuire, Jordan Pecar, woodwind quintet; Morgan Stickney, Kate Fryburg, Isabel Hargrove, Alissa Weigand, Maggie Boncosky, woodwind quintet; Aditi Dey, Dani Wei, Avery Outcalt, Abby Cheng, Laurel Granlund, woodwind quintet; Alex Lu, Erik Haggstrom, Solomon Arterburn, Constantine Stefenidis, Porter Kandel, Luke Nargang, woodwind sextet; Olivia Hege, Julia Thompson, Maggie Boncosky, brass trio; Alex Wei, Kate Weigand, Abby Cheng, brass trio; Owen Williams, Hudson Pangan, Vincent Mann, brass trio; Andrew Haggstrom, Emeline Papp, Loick Trampont, Maris Morgan, brass quartet; Marie Coutant, Anna Hargrove, Zach Baten, TJ Cole, Valerie Kossmann, Nicholas Bullard; brass sextet;
Group V:  Mikey Cardwell, Alex Lipkovich, Daniel Peyton, saxophone trio; Sophie Farnum, Lukas Fiur, Ainsley Bale, woodwind trio; Sam Irizarry, Alex Lipkovich, Triston English, Phil Jervis, woodwind quartet; Nate Liang, Insia Zaidi, Rayna Moiz, Nour Ghoneim, Zoe Carpenter, woodwind quintet; Molly McDonald, Amelia Gollapudi, Ellie Wang, Elyse Barth, Meira Mervis, Heidi Momodu, Kavi Shankar, Phifer Whorley, woodwind choir; Zachary Lammer, Eli Berger, Alex Munn, brass trio; Avi Maun, Jake Lee, Colin Cabellon, Samuel Rudavsky, trombone quartet; Sam Boncosky, Kelly Fulk, Annabel Simpson, snare drum trio
Ensembles– Silver Ratings (4)

Group I:  Henley Lynch, Emeline Papp, Aanchal Agarwal, Eli Beheler, Maris Morgan, brass quintet

Group II: Ria Narayanan, Evelyn Tabor, Walker Gollapudi, Michael Fryburg, mallet quartet

Group III:  Evelyn Tabor, Ria Narayanan, Cooper Hovda, Walker Gollapudi, Chloe Kaplan, Nelson You, Michael Fryburg, Keegan Pyatt, percussion ensemble; Karl Wang, Benjamin Pollack-Milgate, Aanchal Agarwal, brass trio
Indiana’s Only Accredited, Private, Independent Preschool - 8th Grade School for Gifted Students